The Eightfold Path in modern day living

He who walks in the eightfold noble path with unswerving determination is sure to reach Nirvana. – Buddha

I read a lot about Buddhism on my journey toward living a more mindful life.

One of the concepts that reverberates the most for me is the “eight-fold path.”

The steps of the Noble Eightfold Path are:

  • Right Understanding,
  • Right Thought,
  • Right Speech,
  • Right Action,
  • Right Livelihood,
  • Right Effort,
  • Right Mindfulness
  • Right Concentration.

In Buddhism, the eightfold path is meant as a guideline, to be considered, to be contemplated, and to be taken on when, and only when each step is fully accepted as part of the life you seek.

Buddhism never asks for blind faith, it seeks to promote learning and a process of self-discovery.

It is a framework that offers different aspects so we can make sure we don’t lose our way towards a compassionate life.

When I journal there are some questions that I ask myself sporadically to see if I’m drifting from my path.

You can use these questions as headings within your journal to guide your journey.

Leave a Reply

Privacy Preference Center





Book Now
close slider

    Call Now Button